Suffolk Medal

The Suffolk Medal

The Suffolk Medal has been created as the highest award that can be made by Suffolk to an individual from Suffolk.

The purpose of The Suffolk Medal is to recognise, reward and champion the exceptional contributions of Suffolk people that have made a fundamental and lasting difference to the county.

Those eligible for consideration must have gone above and beyond expectations in making a significant individual contribution to their community and will have made a similar impact on the County.

The Suffolk Medal was designed by internationally renowned artist Maggi Hambling.

A Panel, which includes the Lord Lieutenant, has been established to create a shortlist. For more information and details about how to nominate someone for the Suffolk Medal please visit

The 2023 Medals were presented on Suffolk Day at the Cornhill, Ipswich to:

Jonathan Adnams, Chairman, Adnams

Rebecca Crerar, CEO of Suffolk Refugee Support

The 2022 Winners were:

Bashor Ali - Founder member and Chair of the BSC Multicultural Services

James Buckle - for championing local philanthropy and supporting young people in the County

Nigel Oakley - for his lifetime work in preserving the Suffolk Horse

Dame Clare Marx, DBE, DL, FRCS, SFFMLM - for her leadership in the medical sector and for professional women

Maggi Hambling - a contemporary artist of local, national and international acclaim

Rebecca Crerar receives the Suffolk Medal from The Lord-Lieutenant

The Lord-Lieutenant presents Rebecca Crerar with The Suffolk Medal at Suffolk Day 2023